ECU Mamie Jenkins

Greenville, NC

One of the six original buildings on campus, this brick structure with sweeping arches and red tile roof exhibits the Spanish mission style of architecture which was prevalent on East Carolina University’s early campus. The building served as an infirmary until 1929, and later housed offices of several University departments. When MHAworks came onboard, the building had been unoccupied for a number of years. There were significant water damage and structural problems. MHAworks meticulously designed a full renovation of the interior while preserving as many of the building’s historical details as possible. A new masonry ramp was also added to the rear entrance to meet today’s accessibility codes. The result unites the University’s rich history with modern technologies to serve the University’s ever changing needs and goals. Today the Mamie E. Jenkins building is the proud new home of the East Carolina University Honors College.